top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBenas Ruzgys

Why is Brewdog the perfect example of a brand?

Updated: May 17, 2021

Brewdog is an international brewery and pub chain, based in Ellon, Scotland. Founded by James Watt and Martin Dickie in 2007.

I have only been following Brewdog for around a year and in this period I can say with certainty it has become one of my favourite brands to look at and take inspiration from.

Everything from how they dealt with Aldi's fake Punk IPA, to becoming the first carbon-neutral beer business in the world.

Moreover, the transparency Brewdog and James Watt show sets an example of how every brand should act. Staying true to core brand values and expanding on them should be one of the highest, if not the highest priority of every business.


Furthermore, the development of The Lost Forest in Scotland inspired me to try and create an advertisement concept for the Brewdog brand.


Brief:

To create an advertisement highlighting the eco-friendliness of the brand and tie it with the announcement of The Lost Forest.


Thought process:

I have seen Brewdog ads where trees grow out of cans (see below),

but what if cans would grow on trees themselves? In my opinion, this idea perfectly ties in with the brand, current marketing, highlights the eco-friendly values of the brand and reminds people of the Lost Forest.


Additionally, I wanted to integrate a catchy headline into the advertisement. The first thing I thought of was: 'Money doesn't grow on trees, but Brewdog does', a play on a popular saying. This seemed to say everything that I wanted to say about the brand, so I went along with it.


Final Concept:

Everything put together, the ad highlights the two main things I wanted to project: trees and beer - simple as that.


Further Concepts:

Fair warning: these concepts were made for fun and purely out of interest, so there isn't that much justification behind them, I just thought it would be cool to explore more ideas.


Statues holding beer:

This relates to my slight obsession with using statues in anything advertisement related. I explored this concept more in my last blog post about the Sizeer brand and how statues could be used to advertise clothing. I have created a few examples of how that would potentially look:


Old-school advertisements:

Exploring old advertisement styles and taking inspiration from them for current ads is always a good idea. It may not always fit the best, but that's what creativity is about - taking inspiration and making your own interpretation of anything. For me personally, I really like how old beer advertisements look and I couldn't let myself not try this with Brewdog:


Final thoughts:

I strongly believe that I achieved my set out brief for an advertisement for Brewdog. Additionally, the concepts could be improved with higher quality editing and videos/pictures. All in all, it is always a pleasure to create and research for a brand you are personally interested in.


If you enjoyed reading this and liked my concepts, feel free to follow me on Twitter and/or LinkedIn.


Feedback is always welcome!


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page